Have you been injured in a Car Accident in New Jersey?
We Represent You and Protect Your Rights.
If you have been injured in an auto accident in New Jersey, you need an attorney who understands and is knowledgeable about your rights as an auto accident victim.
Nobody is truly ever ready for the financial consequences and emotional turmoil that follow a sudden motor vehicle or car accident. If you get injured because of a motorcycle or motor vehicle accident, it can be overwhelming when having to deal with the insurance, repairs, medical injuries, physical recovery, and work. To make things worse, most individuals don’t fully understand the procedures and laws in place when an accident occurs. For this reason, it’s crucial that you consult with a seasoned auto accident lawyer in the state of New Jersey.
The laws of New Jersey entitle car accident victims to compensation for things like medical bills, property damage, pain and suffering, lost wages, and permanent disfigurement or injuries. Research shows that accident victims that choose to retain an attorney typically receive three times as much compensation when compared to those who do not have legal counsel or representation at their side. You should be wary of insurers and adjusters who routinely take advantage of those victims who do not have representation thanks to a seasoned accident law attorney.
New Jersey Car Accident And Motor Vehicle Areas Of Practice
The law offices of David A. DiBrigida work hard to get all our clients the compensation they’re entitled to. We have a 98 percent success rate and have recovered $30,000,000 from insurance companies over the last two decades. Our veteran accident attorneys go through a detailed assessment of every case in preparation for settlement negotiations and courtroom trials. This allows us to help victims and their loved ones get cash settlements for medical expenses, pain, suffering, and lost wages. There are times that a trial is necessary to achieve a positive outcome. Still, most of the time, we can resolve favorable settlements outside of court, which is usually easier for our clients.
New Jersey Auto Accidents FAQs
The following are frequently asked questions and their answers so you can have a better understanding of what is involved with motor vehicle accidents and the crucial steps you need to take to protect your rights and yourself.
When Do I Need To Consult A New Jersey Car Accident Attorney?
The best time to consult an attorney is as soon as possible. Unfortunately, the laws surrounding auto accidents are complicated and get more so every year. Anytime that you have personally been involved in an accident, whether as a passenger or a driver, and you have any concerns or questions, then you should reach out to us. We offer transportation to those that need assistance to see us, but we can also come to you. Most importantly, we don’t charge any fees unless we win your case!
When Do I Need To Report Accidents To My Insurance Provider?
You need to report all accidents to your insurance provider, agent, or broker as soon as you can. The reason for this is that you don’t want to enable them to deny your legitimate claim. On top of that, your car insurance covers you with quite a few services and benefits that you may be unaware of. Instantly contacting your insurance provider helps you enjoy all the services and benefits already included in your coverage.
Who Is Responsible For Paying For Property Damage To My Vehicle?
If you’re not the one at fault, then you have two options. First, you can contact the at-fault person’s insurance provider. They will pay for any damage to your vehicle, but only after they have determined that their insured party was the one who caused the accident in question.
Secondly, if you have collision coverage, then you can file a claim with your insurance company. They will pay for any damage to your vehicle, minus any applicable deductibles, regardless of who is at fault for that accident.
Once you choose how you want to move ahead, the applicable insurance carrier is going to send out an adjuster to do a damage estimate. That insurance company is then responsible for covering costs to repair or the fair market value for the vehicle, whichever is less.
Can I Get Reimbursed For Lost Wages Should My Doctor Stop Me From Working Due To Accident Injuries?
In the state of New Jersey, most employees get coverage through the State Temporary Disability Benefits program. This program’s benefits are something you earn through your paycheck deductions. If you get injured and can’t work, then you’re likely going to be eligible for as much as 70 percent of your gross wages during your disability. These benefits can only last for up to six months
If State Disability is something you’re not eligible for, then your employer might offer you a private plan. Talk to your human resources office about any benefits that you are entitled to get.
Finally, you might have limited lost wage benefits through your vehicle insurance policy. Income Continuation Benefits can pay you for lost wages for a minimum of a year in weekly amounts of $100 or more. Your weekly payments, as well as how long you receive them, can be increased through specific options. These particular benefits get credit for any of the Temporary Disability Benefits you’re entitled to, regardless of whether you receive them or not. As such, you still have to apply for the Temporary Disability Benefits as soon as you stop work.
Am I Entitled To Money For Pain, Suffering, And Injuries Resulting From The Accident?
It depends on multiple factors. The other driver who was involved in the accident has to have been at fault if you’re going to have the right to collect injury compensation. If you didn’t cause the accident yourself but got hurt, then your capacity to receive financial compensation will depend on how severe your injuries were and what kind of insurance you chose.
If you were personally responsible for the accident in question, then you can’t collect money or compensation for your injuries. However, you should still be entitled to most of the benefits already discussed up above.
What If The At-Fault Person Doesn’t Have Insurance?
Always make sure you are protected with effective legal counsel. When the accident-causing party doesn’t have any insurance or is underinsured, there are still potential sources of recovery for you to pursue.
If you have recently been injured in an accident, or you’re looking to help out someone you love, please contact David DiBrigida at 800-322-5529 to arrange your free consultation. Don’t forget; you don’t pay unless we win.
Don’t Sign Anything Until You Speak To A Licensed NJ Car Attorney!
Insurance companies representing persons at-fault for an accident will contact you, the injured party, and try to convince you to settle your claim immediately with them. Insurance companies routinely do this because they are able to settle the claim for a fraction of its total value. That helps them and really hurts you!
Value of Your NJ Auto Accident Claim
There are many factors that contribute to the value of your claim. For example, what would you do if an insurance company refused to pay your medical bills from a car accident? New Jersey law provides that accident victims may seek compensation for injuries they have suffered through the negligence of another party. This includes compensation for physical injuries, lost wages, medical expenses and other damages. That is why you should not settle with the insurance company directly.
Uninsured Motorist (UM) Accident
What is an Uninsured Motorist Case in New Jersey?
A car accident with someone who has no insurance is considered an uninsured motorist case. An uninsured motorist case can arise in many ways. Maybe the person who hit you showed an insurance card to the police officer but did not pay their premium so their insurance was canceled. Maybe the person driving the car which caused the accident was an excluded driver. No matter how it happens, if there is no insurance on the at-fault vehicle, you have an uninsured motorist case.
Your Insurance Company will Take the Place of the Uninsured Motorist
Many people believe that if they are in an accident with an uninsured motorist, they are unable to make a recovery. This is untrue. Your insurance company steps into the shoes of the uninsured motorist. As such, your insurance company is responsible for not only your medical bills and lost wages but also your pain and suffering as well as other damages caused by the uninsured motorist. But, do not expect that your insurance company will fairly compensate you simply because they are [your insurance company]. You should contact an attorney familiar with uninsured motorist cases to protect your interests.
What Does Uninsured Motorist Insurance in Cover?
Uninsured motorist insurance covers many circumstances. If you are in an accident with an uninsured motorist or a hit and run vehicle, your uninsured motorist insurance will cover your claim. Most people think of uninsured motorist cases as involving two or more vehicles, your car and the uninsured motorist’s car. But uninsured motorist insurance covers many other circumstances.
NJ Uninsured Motorist Insurance covers you if you are a Pedestrian.
We represent many clients who are hit while they are pedestrians. It is common for a car to hit a pedestrian and then flee the scene. This becomes a hit and run accident. If you have your own car insurance and you are hit by an uninsured motorist, your insurance company will cover your injuries.
Uninsured Motorist Insurance covers you, your children, and any family member living with you.
Even though car insurance may be in your name, uninsured motorist coverage is much broader than you may think. Uninsured motorist insurance covers not only you but any family member residing in your household. The reason for this is apparent from the following example. If your young son or daughter is hit by an uninsured motorist, they are not old enough to have their own car insurance which would cover them. Provided they live with you, your car insurance will provide uninsured motorist coverage to him or her. However, insurance policies do not limit uninsured motorist coverage to children. Insurance policies cover any family member living with you. To discuss whether uninsured motorist insurance applies to you or your family members, contact us for a free consultation.
What is a Hit & Run Motorist Case in New Jersey?
When someone causes an accident and flees the scene, or gives you fraudulent identification, you will have a hit and run case. A hit and run case is treated similarly to an uninsured motorist case. Many times, our clients or witnesses are able to get a license plate of the car which caused the accident. While this can be important, it is not necessary in order to present a claim for damages in a hit and run accident.
What should I do in a Hit and Run Accident in New Jersey?
Like all accidents, you should properly document your accident. In a hit and run accident, you must make a police report within 24 hours. Failure to do so will likely result in your uninsured motorist claim being denied by your insurance company. If you have a license plate, allow the police to do their job. If they are able to identify the car, they will do so. You should also contact an attorney familiar with hit and run and uninsured motorist cases.
To protect your legal rights, call David today at 800-322-5529 for a FREE consultation.
Call an experience NJ Auto Accident Injury Attorney
David A. DiBrigida, handles auto accident injury cases in New Jersey. He will evaluate the factors contributing to the value of your damages and personally handle your case from start to finish.
To protect your legal rights, call David today at 800-322-5529 for a FREE consultation.